Uncategorized

What Does the Nature of Humanity Say About the Nature of God?

The other day I started watching a really badly done documentary. I only sat through about about five minutes, but that was long enough to provoke some questions about why God made us as he did. The documentary addressed exorcism, which (fortunately for you) I am not even remotely ready to tackle.

What caught me was a comment about the nature of our relationship to God. To paraphrase: Without evil in the world and the opportunity to choose to overcome it, there could never be a fully realized love between God and man. Okay. Not a new idea. Choosing to call on God, allowing him to meet our needs, is one way we can learn about him, know him.

2 Corinthians 12:9: But he said to me, β€œMy grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

This verse always makes me think. I like like it; but upon further reflection, it confuses me. How could God’s power be made perfect? If he had created us to clearly and simply understand his power and his love, would it really be any less amazing? God created humanity and placed us in paradise. But he created beings without his capacity to understand the universe and decided that we should share the planet with Lucifer, who was sent here not to enjoy a cushy promotion, but to languish apart from God.

The Bible indicates that God cannot do things that are contrary to his own nature; that he cannot, for example, lie (Titus 1:2) or “…deny himself” (2 Timothy 2:13). This leads me to conclude that humanity is what it is because it has to be. How’s that for cryptic? πŸ™‚ But seriously, if God can only act in accordance with his nature, which is indivisibly wise, perfect, loving, just, etc, then humans can’t be (for some reason I just can’t grasp) perfect on the same level God is. But how is it that such imperfect people and angels and beasts came from a perfect creator? If he can’t even choose evil, how are we so very susceptible to it?

While I have an ever-increasing number of questions and even doubts, God has also blessed me with a generous measure of conviction and faith in the matter of his goodness. I don’t understand it but I feel it – even though the world can be ugly and life can be hard. I don’t expect my personal feelings and emotions to factor in other peoples’ searches, but I hope that occasionally I can effectively communicate why he is the force in the universe with which I want to be connected. To borrow a prayer:

Your hands have made and fashioned me; give me understanding that I may learn your commandments. -Psalm 119:73

Happy searching!

Sarah

2 thoughts on “What Does the Nature of Humanity Say About the Nature of God?

  1. Hey Sarah! Great blog. I would like to give my thought on the “power made perfect” part. I feel God’s power is made perfect in our eyes. Scripture does say that we will never understand God, His ways are above our ways and His thoughts are above are thoughts. We can not comprehend how high, wide, long and deep is the love He has for us. So I feel it means made perfect in our eyes. He is already perfect but we don’t know that, because of our doubts, and when we are weak and rely on Him to bring us up to make us strong then we see how perfect, or we can imagine, how perfect He really is. kepp thinking and writing because you make me think. Blessings to you, Joel and Olive.
    Andy

Leave a Reply

