Spirituality

Specifically Vague

Two blogs in one day!! I think this is a first.

I just finished the introduction to a book that a fellow-blogger recommended (her blog is excellent: http://lightenough.wordpress.com/) and I am really very excited about it! I anticipate lots of blog-fodder from this one. 🙂 It is called Four Views on Salvation in a Pluralistic World. Four essayists present their theologies, the others respond, and then the original essayists get to respond to the responses. Got all that? It sounds like the views presented range from strict and literal adherence to scripture (salvation is through Christ and only Christ and Christians must evangelize) to broad and inclusive theology where everyone gets a golden ticket.

It’s got me thinking about where I stand (again) and I’ve decided to make this a small blog project. Below is my current and extremely brief stance on salvation insofar as I actually know what I believe. After I’ve finished reading the book, I will re-post it and let you know if my opinion has changed.

I believe in the divinity of Jesus. I believe that he removed the obstacles between us and God; that because he came, we can hope for ultimate peace. HOWEVER, I also believe that loving “…the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength”, and loving”…your neighbor as yourself.” (Mark 12:30-31) is entirely possible without knowing Jesus and God the same way I do. Even the more specific verses that indicate that Jesus is the only way to God don’t specify every single way in which someone can come to Jesus. Although I have more research to do, I also am leaning toward the view that Jesus’ death on the cross was retroactive. In other words, those that died before Christ could still come to God through him.

There are lots of blanks there, I know. Hell, for example, is a topic I can’t even begin to touch right now. I’ll keep you posted!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Specifically Vague

  1. I’ve missed your blogging, but totally understand how working has gobbled up your time for reflection/writing (mentioned in your recent post). I actually just had a series of 5 posts on this book (Four Views on Salvation) – in case you want to check them out. I hope, if your life circumstances change, you might be able to get back to blogging through this book as well. It is helpful to hear different people’s perspectives/reactions – especially on a tough issue like this one.

Leave a Reply

