Uncategorized

Bidding Farewell to a Happy Year

A brief Christmas letter – back to probing religious questions after the new year. 🙂

I’m a little sad to see this year go… It’s been pretty fantastic. Next week my husband and I will celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. We’ve grown so much together. Our love, patience and understanding for each other seem to increase every year. With great discipline and commitment, each of us has also honed a remarkable talent for irritating the other. 😉 The addition of a curious, talkative, smiley baby girl last year makes this anniversary seem even more meaningful.

We’ve lived in beautiful Iowa for six years, but it is only recently that we have begun to feel really rooted. We’ve made some fabulous friends, found a church and discovered so many great places to eat, hike, shop and just enjoy in general.

On a strictly personal level, I have loved every second at home with my daughter. The time to read and blog is an added bonus. I don’t think I’ve ever done so much “living in the moment.” I like it.

Our families have done well, too. There have been some challenges and struggles, but everyone seems to be hanging in there. We can’t thank our friends and families enough for their support. That sounds like such a pat statement, but it is meant with the utmost sincerity and gratitude.

I’ve been sitting here trying to decide how to wrap this up, and I feel compelled to relate a rare moment of peace and renewal that I experienced the other day. One morning last week, I found myself keenly aware of my blessings and of God’s proximity. The feeling was peaceful and yet full of emotion. There was a pervasive quietness within me. I felt distinctly not alone in a way that was deeply comforting. Maybe that sounds a bit hokey or vague, but I wish that all of you might feel the same contentment in the year ahead.

Prayers for peace and joy for all of you! Merry Christmas,

Sarah

Go thy way, eat thy bread with joy, and drink thy wine with a merry heart; for God hath already accepted thy works. ~Ecclesiastes 9:7

2 thoughts on “Bidding Farewell to a Happy Year

Leave a Reply

