Spirituality

Slogging through a Bog

I’m feeling bogged down and a bit irritated today with the endless Christian and bible-based theories and interpretations that are out there. How does one sort through the various view-points of different earnest and intelligent theologians? And how does one study scripture in a non-biased way, without applying the ideas of their church or teacher?

I know this comment could earn me some serious criticism – I find it hard even to be honest about it because I know that some of you reading are fairly fundamental, but this is the kind of thing that really does lead me to wonder about the relevancy of the Bible today. Frankly, I think reading it without having some understanding of the context and intent of the authors can lead to much more confusion and misapplication than clarity and apprehension. And I think very few of us have that knowledge.

I still thoroughly enjoy learning and growing, and maybe tomorrow I’ll be over my negativity. In the meantime, I think maybe a short break to reset is in order. 🙂 I do believe that God gives us what we need and I strive not to limit Him with my presumptions!

Hope everyone has a fantastic weekend!

 

3 thoughts on “Slogging through a Bog

  1. Such good questions and valid frustrations in a confusing, divided, messy, complicated, big, diverse Christian church!!! Let the Spirit guide you to the Truth. Pray and look to whose witness matches what you read in the Bible.. they’re a good source for clarity for me, at least. I read a lot of Rohr, Tutu, Claiborne, Wallis, Nouwen & Rohleiser and they help me a lot! < Peace!

  2. Quote: “Frankly, I think reading it without having some understanding of the context and intent of the authors can lead to much more confusion and misapplication than clarity and apprehension. And I think very few of us have that knowledge.”

    100% True! Fortunately, the art and science of Bible study can be learned and there are a lot of great easy resources for understanding context and intent of each book/author.

    Also keep in mind Augustine’s famous axiom, “In essentials unity, in non-essentials liberty, in all things charity”. The Church is actually unified on the main an plain things in Scripture, the essentials of the faith. The non-essentials that we debate are interesting, but we don’t need to divide over them and it’s okay to have different opinions. Let me give an example to illustrate: The Bible very clearly an repeatedly teaches that Jesus is coming back. This is an essential of the faith and all of the Christianity are united in this belief (by definition any person or group that denies an essential part of Christianity does not truly represent Christianity). Now within Christianity we have all different ideas and speculations about how that might play out, the exact sequence of different events, the best way to understand symbols in Revelation, etc. That’s A-okay. Those things might be interesting to discuss and debate, but they’re non-essentials. We have liberty in those things and should always act in love allowing others to the same liberty.

Leave a Reply

