Spirituality

That Which is Good

Ever since I was old enough to have questions about God and religion, I’ve had people telling me that some things I just have to “take on faith.” That there are some mysteries to which we don’t have the answers, and that’s okay. I agree. I do not, however, think that we should accept things, believe things, without a reason. And most of us don’t; even if that reason is simply, “I feel in my soul that this is right.” I would also challenge those who think that faith is blind trust or obedience. I think most people would agree that you shouldn’t give yourself wholly to something without first knowing that it is right and good. The Bible even instructs us:

  • 19Do not quench the Spirit. 20Do not despise prophecies, 21but test everything; hold fast what is good.” 1 Thessalonians 5:19-21

I believe in God. I guess to be totally frank, I need to work through these questions to be sure that Christianity is, well, good. I’m tempted to delete that and reword it in a more abstract way, but I won’t. 🙂 I am not going to apologize for that. I don’t think it is wrong to take a good hard look at what you believe and and why you believe it. And there are some tough things in the Bible! While I know not everyone is driven to that kind of searching, I find that I am. I want to know my God as fully as possible and this is one of the ways I’m going about it. Enjoy!!! ….Or don’t…. 🙂 But thanks for reading, regardless.

Leave a Reply

