Spirituality

Keeping it Simple

Today I need a break from mental dissecting and mulling-over. So at the risk of sounding like a corny devotional, I’m sharing Ecclesiastes 5:18:

Then I realized that it is good and proper for a man to eat and drink, and to find satisfaction in his toilsome labor under the sun during the few days of life God has given him—for this is his lot.

It sounds a bit defeatist, but I like this reminder that people were made to feel joy and that while life might feel trivial and meaningless to me at times, it is, after all, still my life. I can’t think of a better way way to show gratitude for the things I’ve been given than to take pleasure in them. And it seems to me those moments of joy are a tip-of-the-iceberg glimpse of what we might have in store. Frankly, that rare flash of simple, pure happiness is probably one of the single most motivating factors for me to seek and seek to please God.

Leave a Reply

