Spirituality

A quick follow-up to the salvation question…

I’m feeling so good about this blog today! It was absolutely terrifying for me to put myself out there and to open myself up to judgment from my friends and family. Thank you to those who have taken the time to read it thus far and even respond.

To be honest, I didn’t expect to find any kind of peace on yesterday’s question of salvation so quickly. The pastor of the church I visited responded to my post (you can see her response in the comments when you click on the “Giving it a go with the Methodists” post on the right-hand side of the screen). It was eye opening for me to hear such an open, grace-centered opinion from an educated theologian.

My brilliant mother also gave me some insight. She pointed me toward the verse below in the first chapter in John:

 John 1:9 That was the true Light which lighteth every man that cometh into the world.

I’ll let you read the verses before and after for context if you’re interested, but to me, that verse supports the possibility that we can know Jesus in more ways than one, because that spark is present in us all.

Now, for those of you who feel like I’m missing the point, here and have doubts that the Bible is a true source at all – I do plan to explore that further. However, it might be a little while, because I can’t open that door without doing some serious reading first! Shalom!

 

One thought on “A quick follow-up to the salvation question…

  1. I would like to add to your salvation topic. I recently read this in Romans 10:9-13: v.9-10 “that if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.” v.11-12: “For the Scripture says “Whoever believes in Him WILL NOT BE Disappointed.” (see Isaiah 28:16) v. 12: “For there is no distinction between Jew and Greek; for the same Lord is Lord of all, abounding in riches for all who call on Him – v. 13 – for “WHOEVER WILL CALL ON THE NAME OF THE LORD WILL BE SAVED.” (see Joel 2:32).

Leave a Reply

