Spirituality

Honest Exploration

This blog is meant to reflect my honest exploration of spiritual and Christian concepts. I decided to put my thoughts out there in this format for a few different reasons:

  • I have so many questions! Writing helps me to solidify and organize those wispy, fleeting thoughts that can be so hard to articulate.
  • I’m hoping that feedback from readers will lead me to greater clarity and keep me thinking.
  • Bonus if this blog provokes thought and conversation for others.

Before I start – a few things about what I believe (and don’t believe) – so that you know what you’re getting into. 🙂

  • I absolutely do not believe that my way is the only right way and everyone else is wrong – or worse yet – damned. It feels incredibly presumptuous to me to assume that anyone can, without error, know and understand what God intends. Even if the Bible is the unpolluted Word of God, there are vastly different takes, translations and interpretations (I will further explore the question of “the only way” in later posts). I can only be open, honest and persevering in my personal search for goodness and truth.
  • For me, Christianity is decidedly NOT an easy, comforting thing. It means greater responsibility and obligation. It means making a constant effort to interpret the world and live honestly. It means facing frightening things and being humble enough to rely on God for guidance and strength.
  • Despite the challenges, I believe that seeking, acknowledging and doing one’s best to obey (I know that word is touchy for a lot of people) God can lead to a much deeper, more joyful life experience. As for after-life- I don’t doubt it, but I also don’t understand the biblical accounts and implications of eternal life. I’m hoping to gain some insight!

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you think. I know these issues can be emotionally loaded, and I welcome different opinions, but please be respectful if you decide to comment.

3 thoughts on “Honest Exploration

  1. “For me, Christianity is decidedly NOT an easy, comforting thing. It means greater responsibility and obligation. It means making a constant effort to interpret the world and live honestly.”

    I love this statement!

    Your blog is very interesting and I was very excited to find it. Thanks for being willing to put yourself out there. I think I can learn a lot from the things you share.

    And, I’d like to presume to offer myself – if you are ever interested in asking me any questions directly I’d be happy to email with you or something. (I became a believer about 15 years ago, and have been learning what that means and how to live it out ever since…)

    1. Thank you! I really appreciate your offer and may take you up on it! Your blog looks fantastic. I’m impressed with your writing style and the general tone of your blog. Can’t wait to read more. Take care!

  2. Your honesty is contagious. I have been a christian since childhood, but didn’t have a personal relationship with Jesus until my mid 20’s and I still have questions.
    Questioning is good, but my personal opinion is that God wants us to take him at his word; I guess you could define that as faith. I realize that is often difficult, but in my walk with the Lord when I do have questions, I just keep in the word, living my life and he eventually answers them when I least expect it.

    My blog represents my journey in a a humorous, and yet sincere way. God is funny and creative and that is good since we are usually the reason he laughs!

Leave a Reply

